Ashwin Brings it Home After 12 Years

Ashwin Brings it Home After 12 Years

For Indian cricket, 2016 has been a remarkable year with some records been made and high voltage performance. Indian cricketers have really proven their mettle this year, especially Ravichandran Ashwin, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja to name a few and what could be better than new entrant Karun Nair’s brilliant knock of 303* in the final test against England, to end the year.


Ravichandran Ashwin’s emergence as one of the best all rounder in the word in all three cricketing format has won him numerous accolades this year.


Ravichandran Ashwin, the recipient of ICC Cricketer of the year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) 2016 and the ICC Test Cricketer of the year award is the second Indian cricketer after Rahul Dravid to be Honoured for the same after achieving the feat at the ICC 2016 Awards.


The other Indian Cricketers to be named at ICC 2016 Awards are Virat Kohli as captain of the ICC ODI Team of the year. However, M S Dhoni has missed the list, while Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma also featured in the list.


ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (34 not out, 10 balls, 1×4, 4×6, ICC WT20 India 2016 final v England, Kolkata)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Marais Erasmus


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2016:

David Warner (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Adam Vogues (Aus), Jonny Bairstow (Eng) (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes (Eng), R. Ashwin (Ind), Rangana Herath (SL), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Steve Smith (Aus)


ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2016:

David Warner (Aus), Quinton de Kock (SA), Rohit Sharma (Ind), Virat Kohli (Ind) (captain), AB de Villiers (SA), Jos Buttler (Eng), Mitchell Marsh (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Sunil Narine (WI),Imran Tahir (SA)


ICC Women’s Team of the Year 2016:

Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wicketkeeper), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Kim Garth (Ireland)